What happens if Tyson Fury’s eye cut reopens against Deontay Wilder? Will Brit be disqualified from world t

Tyson Fury suffered a horror eye injury in his last fight against Otto Wallin and there are fears it could scupper his bid to become a two-time heavyweight world champion.

The Brit faces Deontay Wilder in Las Vegas on Saturday night (the early hours of Sunday morning for UK fans) and admits there is a big risk the cut – which required 47 stitches – may open up again.

Although five months has passed since Fury’s bloody battle with Wallin, there are fears his eye has not fully healed

Getty Images – Getty

Although five months has passed since Fury’s bloody battle with Wallin, there are fears his eye has not fully healed

In order to prevent further damage to his right eye, Fury has drafted in the legendary cut man Jacob ‘Stitch’ Duran to work in his corner for this fight.

Wilder has claimed that the cut was reopened in sparring and will play a big factor in their rematch.

The WBC heavyweight champion said: “I heard it got reopened in sparring, that’s why he was wearing the hoodie and the shades at the press conference.

“If I cut that thing open again, it’s going to be a mess. We’re going to see what happens after that.


FOLLOW WILDER VS FURY 2 LIVE ON TALKSPORT 


“But hopefully it don’t open, because I don’t want this fight to stop.

“I want people to get their full viewing and their money’s worth for this fight and I want it to last all the way until I knock him out on the canvas and we see what he does when he hits the canvas this time.”

Fury denied Wilder’s sparring claim but what happens if the cut does open up again? talkSPORT.com explains…

If the cut is deemed to be affecting Fury’s vision and becomes a concern, the referee will take Fury to a doctor seated at ringside.

The doctor will decide whether Fury is OK to continue and if he decides he can’t, the referee must stop the fight.

If the referee decides that the cut was caused by a punch, Wilder wins by technical knockout.

If the referee decides the cut was produced by a collision, the judges at ringside must hand over their scorecards and the fighter ahead on points at that time wins by technical decision. However, it will be ruled a technical draw if four rounds have not been completed.

Let’s hope the cut doesn’t come into affect and we enjoy another thrilling fight…