Gareth Bale had a sensational Champions League goal taken away from him by VAR during Real Madrid’s 3-0 defeat to Paris Saint-Germain.
With Los Blancos trailing 2-0, the Welshman thought he had offered the visitors a route back into the game when he juggled the ball and lobbed Keylor Navas from the edge of the box.
However, replays showed the ball brushed his hand before he pulled the trigger, giving referee Anthony Taylor no choice but to chalk the goal off.
Under current handball regulations, any contact between the ball and an attacker’s hand in the moments leading up to a goal will see the strike ruled out.
The rule has caused controversy, and Bale’s disallowed strike represents another argument against it.
There was no intention from the winger and the use of his hand had no bearing on the goal, but with the laws as they are, fans were robbed of a moment of brilliance.
Gary Lineker, working as a pundit for BT Sport, said at half-time: “I wish they went back to the old way, where they say whether it’s intentional or not. This is robbing us of goals.”
Madrid found themselves two goals down to the French champions after a double from their former star Angel di Maria.
Thibaut Courtois will no doubt feel he could’ve done better with the first, which flashed past the goalkeeper at his near post, but there was nothing he could do about the second.
In truth, Madrid didn’t deserve anything from the game, and Thomas Meunier ensured the scoreline accurately reflected the game by rounding off a stunning team move in injury time.